Sells GLIANA hemp seeds:

The aim of the Association

Baltic Bast Crops Growers’ and Producers’ Association was established in May, 2009.  Initially, the founders of the BBCGPA had wanted to establish an organisation, that would only cover hemp, however, as according to the Lithuanian law hemp is still illegal, the founders opted for bast crops, covering  flax (Linum usitatissimum L.), nettle (Urtica dioica L.) and hemp (Cannabis sativa L.).

 The aim of the Association is to bring together farmers, scientists, industry and business representatives in making the full use of the innovative farming, production and business opportunities offered by these crops.

 The objectives of BBCGPA:

 1. To promote hemp as an agricultural crop in Lithuania, explaining the benefits for the national economy, creating the legal basis, and raising public awareness about the possibilities hemp provides

 2. To revive the economy sector of bast crops, opening up business opportunities for farmers and businesses.

This would strengthen rural economy and offer possibilities for innovation. BBCGPA aims to work in cooperation with researchers from various Baltic universities, in order to fully exploit the possibilities offered by these environmentally friendly crops.

 3. To work in the field of research and development of bast crops, involving specialists and scientific institutions of different countries and exchanging knowledge and experience.

BBCGPA seeks to build a publicly available data base, covering the history of bast crops in the Baltics, scientific studies on various modern applications of bast crops and research on environmental and economic benefits provided by these crops.

 4. To strengthen international cooperation, building a network of contacts all over the world. This involves organising seminars, learning events, and meetings between bast crops researchers, growers and producers in different countries with the purpose of exchanging information and best practices. BBCGPA works in cooperation with other EU countries, including Baltic and Northern countries, Czech Republic, France, United Kingdom and Ireland, as well as with Russia and Ukraine.